PDA

View Full Version : No more Heroes, just whiney illiterates ...

dogtag
12-17-2023, 12:07
"This is the Army Mr Jones
no private rooms or telephones"

That old song is right and that's what annoys
the Gen Z brats. That Woman looks stupid and
if she wrote that message, she's also illiterate.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-12855869/army-tiktok-mutiny-gen-z-recruits.html

Let's hope we don't get into a scrap.

barretcreek
12-17-2023, 06:23
OHIO.

dogtag
12-17-2023, 06:50
[QUOTE=barretcreek;656192]OHIO.[/QUOTE

WOW

Phloating Phlasher
12-18-2023, 01:22
Well it IS the "Daily Fail" as many Brits call it to be fair.:eusa_boohoo:
But yes I can see that.
Its not new, But it IS far more widespread though.

Back in the early 80's I worked as a ship's photographer on Cruise ships. We worked for an independent company "Ocean Pictures, (Cruising) Ltd", not the shipping line, "Cunard". We had to wear a "uniform", pretty relaxed though, white pants, white shoes & "Color of the day" shirts that matched the line's color of the day, which rotated red, white, & blue. Other than that it was pretty much up to us. When on shore excursions & so on or at things like poolside events we could wear anything like shorts & Bermuda shirts. All of this was known before you joined the ship so you could purchase suitable items. White "Levis" were fine.

I got a new to the job assistant, replacing my old one who'd been promoted & given his own ship. On his first day he arrived & unpacked, then, instead of coming for the orientation, very informal a tour of the ship & facilities & visit with The Captain to introduce yourself. Unlike Star Trek" you don't "just wander on to the bridge".
We met the captain (actually the Ship's Master, a sort of Super Captain, he can actually override the company on nautical matters.)
The newby went off on a rant, in front of the bridge officers ON THE BRIDGE to the Captain.
"HE WOULD NOT WEAR "UNIFORMS" AS HE DISAPPROVED OF REGIMENTATION"!