Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Internet scams

Default Internet scams

A while back, I started getting emails saying, "I'm a professional hacker and now own your computer. Before I lock it up, send $ to *some address that's obviously a front*. I'm serious! I'll lock your computer up if I don't get the $ by *very soon*.

If you don't open any links in mail like that, no worries - no trouble at all for me after 20 or 30 such ransom attempts. I downloaded malwarebytes anyway and am glad I did.

What I'm getting now is very legit looking mail saying I'm eligible for... *mostly a big discount, but I did get a tempting offer of a nice laptop pack pack for free*. But these offers to a "loyal customer" are from businesses that don't exist here in very rural Nebr.

The consistent thing I see with them is spelling that's almost right. Like wallmart dot com or Lowwes dot com - minor glitches like that. Opening links in those would be a very bad idea beyond doubt! So I don't. But the scam page is a spot on copy of how that business's correspondence really looks.

There oughta be a law against it! SW

Look at the email address it was sent on. You don't have to open the link to see it.

If you get an offer from HomeDepot@offers-homedepot.com it may be real whereas you get one from HomeDepot@alicedoeschicago@gmail.com it no doubt isn't.

I got quite a few of them from big stores like Best Buy, HD, Lowes, JP Penny and such but in all cases they were stores that I haven't bought from in years so they wouldn't offering me anything for free. Then there's the scams with the bank accounts: "we are holding funds at Century Bank till you provide us with your account information. At that time your funds will be deposited into your account". They're always banks that I have no accounts with.