Default An eBay antique find

I bought an old GE Type AK1 AC Volt Ammeter on eBay the other day that I repaired and calibrated for a customer when I was a bench technician for GE on Monday, July 19th 1976. You have to be an industrial electrician to fully appreciate a test instrument like this. The AK1s were made by GE mostly from the 1940s through the 1960s and were built like tanks.

24352DD5-951C-41D6-854B-21E5CB35D79C.jpg3B6A09C5-1888-4264-86CD-CDADF5C03738.jpg

I found this one while browsing through the AK1s and was shocked to see one for sale that had a calibration sticker from our shop in my hand writing. Time has destroyed the carrying case and wire leads, but that is ok. The meter looks and works perfectly. Of course, I had to buy it. It showed up today and it was like an old friend coming home. A friend I have not seen for 47 years.

Where the wind comes sweeping down the plain

A cool story!

When I think of the hundreds of various test and measurement devices I repaired and calibrated over the years, it is not surprising that some would come up for sale on eBay sooner or later. I am surprised that I saw it and had the opportunity to buy it.

4. Default

THAT, is like finding your M1 from boot camp. Very cool treasure.
    Last edited by BuckeyeShooter; 04-08-2023 at 10:09.

We had an old voltage tester that was fairly simple to use.
    It would hum on a hot neutral which was a big plus for us ballast slaves.
    There were 8 pre-L.E.D. lamps in it for voltage indication.
    The resin fibre body on it sure took a beating, and never broke in the 35 years that I used it.
    Sure got dropped off of 16 ft step ladders a lot. It's probably still working today, and not being used due to it's lack of digital read out and non-phone compatibility :P

Regards,

Doc Sharptail