Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default .357 Mag loads gone awry

Yes. I am new to straight-walled reloading. I have Lee carbide die set. The Starline brass slides right into my .357 case gauge as it should. I bell the cases, load powder and set the bullet (Berry's plated flat point). No lube anywhere, as these are carbide dies. Sometimes my alignment must be off because the bullet sort of bulges on one side. With more care, the seating goes better. However, the end result will not fit into case gauge. So, I run through again increasing the crimp in hopes of slimming the profile to fit in the case gauge. These three are examples of what is happening when I try to use tighter crimp - a series of waves on the shell. I hope it is visible. While I wait for a Lee Factory Crimp die to arrive, is there anything to be done. Or, done differently than I am doing? I followed the parameters outlined in the documentation from Lee. Any thoughts are welcome.
    IMG_1372.jpg
    IMG_1373.jpg
    IMG_1374.jpg
    "Wars are, of course, as a rule to be avoided; but they are far better than certain kinds of peace." - T.R.

I suspect you are trying to crimp too much. Start with just enough to straighten the "bell". Then add a little more (1/16 turn = .0045"), being careful that the bullet's crimp groove aligns with the case mouth. (It's helpful to back off the seating stem once the groove is aligned; after the correct crimp is set, adjust the stem back down to the bullet.) You should find a point where any more crimp would make the case buckle ("waves"). Back off a hair and that's the maximum crimp your bullets and brass will allow.
    All this assumes your cases are of uniform length. If not, trim them all to match the shortest one.
    And ditch the case gauge. Test cartridge fit in your actual chamber(s). That's where you're going to fire them, not in some gauge that might not be right for your firearm.
    Last edited by Parashooter; 02-17-2021 at 12:58.

Blog Entries