Thread: Like new M1884

Default Like new M1884

Bought this rifle after Christmas at a gun shop down the street from me. I have been collecting Trapdoors for around 9 years now and though I'm no expert I feel I can tell the difference between a parts rifle and one that is all original. I posted this rifle on the Facebook group also. I recently had it appraised by an appraiser with many years of experience. He gave me a value based on his knowledge which was way more than I paid, he was quite envious of my find also. Recently someone told me that a while back surplus new parts were purchased and rifles built from those parts had been sold on the market bringing around 600.00. From what I can see this rifle is original and authentic. There are only 2 issues I have and that being the cleaning rod has a bend in it and there is an area around the trigger guard where the wood is about a 1/16 or a little more lower than the metal. I figure this could be accounted for wood shrinkage?? All metal has the same color and no screws are buggered. My question is could this be a parts rifle or as I feel a complete and original rifle?
    IMG_1475.jpgIMG_1476.jpgIMG_1478.jpgIMG_1479.jpgIMG_1490.jpg