Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: .22 LR revolver

Default .22 LR revolver

Looking for suggestions on a good .22 revolver. Something with a 4" barrel. Thoughts?

Double action or single action ? What is your price range? Lots of choices, need a few specifics of what you are looking for.

Look around and find and buy a S&W model 18. I have been shooting S&W 17 and 18 revolvers since 1982. For the range and for the woods and fields, the model 18 is simply ideal beyond words. It is the very best .22 LR revolver ever produced by any one at any time period. Get one. You'll very much be thrilled with it. Sincerely. bruce.
    " Unlike most conservatives, libs have no problem exploiting dead children and dancing on their graves."

My preference would be a DA revolver. I've had a High Standard Sentinel Deluxe suggested to me. From what I can tell, the gun went out of production in the late 1960's/early 1970's. Has anyone owned one?

I have a High Standard Sentinal convertible in 22LR / 22 Mag. I purchased it for my Dad because he liked 22 Magnum rifles. I found it used for less than $100 and the barrel underlug reminded me of a Colt Detective Special. People would occasionally ask what I was shooting at the range. When loaded with 22 magnums the noise and muzzle flash was impressive. There is really nothing special about the Sentinal, but it is an economical plinker.

I believe the Sentinal Deluxe may have an aluminum frame. The Sentinel MK I and MK IV were the first of the series to have a steel frame.
    Last edited by gwp; 12-06-2018 at 02:49.

Quote Originally Posted by bruce View Post
    Look around and find and buy a S&W model 18. I have been shooting S&W 17 and 18 revolvers since 1982. For the range and for the woods and fields, the model 18 is simply ideal beyond words. It is the very best .22 LR revolver ever produced by any one at any time period. Get one. You'll very much be thrilled with it. Sincerely. bruce.
    +1