Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default safe conduct pass Viet Nam

photo shows the safe conduct pass with the twenty round M16 magazine, anyone seen a safe conduct pass with
    the later thirty round magazine ?P1010042_0038.jpg

Blog Entries

A local range owner, a retired Colonel, 1st Air Cav, told me the Vietnam War was fought with 20's, although I know in the last days 30's were there.

BTW, thanks for all your ammo posts, I've learned much from you.
    Phillip McGregor (OFC)
    "I am neither a fire arms nor a ballistics expert, but I was a combat infantry officer in the Great War, and I absolutely know that the bullet from an infantry rifle has to be able to shoot through things." General Douglas MacArthur

Twenty round magazines were used initially, and had to be downloaded to 19 rounds for reliability. The plastic wrapper is part of the Cheu Hoi ("rallier") program. The aim was to entice VC to come over to the Government side. Many Cheu Hois were enlisted in the Kit Carson Scouts -- and if I were a descendant of Kit Carson, I'd sue over that!

I was with the 1st Cav until Dec 31st 1970 and we had about 4 for the whole company; One for each platoon and one or so for the pay officer who came out once a month with our script and carried that CAR-15 or whatever it was that none of us trusted. Point guy got 1st dibbs on the 30 rounder if he wanted it and was traded off through rotation. Put 30 rounds in it or only 29? We didn't know.

Our Kit Carson Scouts worked pretty hard for us if you didn't piss them off. They were Mhong and didn't have much use for the "civilized" Vietnamese or our ring knockers but if they thought something was up; they'd clean and stack their magazines by their holes, show us and say: " Bou coup gook come". Worked pretty good to tighten up our stuff when it was hanging out even if nothing came of it.