Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Blog Entries

Default Remington OP rods

I was thinking over an adult beverage last night about new op rods and realized Remington probably made the best in the 60's and they are still in business.

With all the garands out there and the CMP releasing more each day, and the now real possibility the presumably worn out Korean garands have a shot of coming home, I wonder if Remington possibly still has the tooling to make the NM spec op rod in storage someplace and if they would be willing to manufacture them again.

I know I could send a email to the generic address, probably with the predictable answer of NO, but does anyone know anyone at Remington with enough clout to at least consider the proposal? Maybe someone through the shooting sports would be the way to go?
    Phillip McGregor (OFC)
    "I am neither a fire arms nor a ballistics expert, but I was a combat infantry officer in the Great War, and I absolutely know that the bullet from an infantry rifle has to be able to shoot through things." General Douglas MacArthur

I think that a company could produce the M1 rifle operating rod if there was enough demand, and could improve it too. Example: the
    TRW manufactured M14 operating was one piece ! even the early model shop Garand had a one piece operating rod known as the
    weld seam op rod but very difficult to make for the early model shop rifles.

I would doubt Remington would manufacture the M1 operating rod.

Interesting that when the M14 was cancelled, it would have been an excellent time to introduce a new manufactured M14 semi auto
    from HRA or Winchester, but Winchester kept it alive somewhat by selling their tooling

Don't recall Remington ever having anything to do with M1 Rifles or their parts.
    "...new manufactured M14 semi auto..." Is an M1A. Sort of. Winchester is owned by FN now too. However, I think most or all M-14 machinery and tooling was sent to Taiwan.
    Spelling and grammar count!