Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default Springfield Armory M1922 MII Stock Cartouche Question

Ok, I am no expert, but have a 22 I plan on firing for the first time this week-end. I cleaned the barrel and will pick up ammo tomorrow. I looked at the stock and only noticed a circled P until this morning when I saw with a magnifying glass a star stamped behind the rear swivel. I couldn't find any history on this cartouche for a Springfield. The stock is a straight finger groove stock. The rifle is drilled and tapped but does not have a Lyman rear sight. Would anyone know what this cartouche was for or and if this would be considered a military training rifle, possible DCM sale or something else?

Thank you, especially for the guy here that told me what all types of ammo to try out. I think using a ladder sight will make for a fun sort of day.

can you post pics of the rifle?

3. Default

My camera is not good at all but I will send one from it.1922.jpg

4. Default

A M1922 with a M1903 type barrel? It's not a Hoffer-Thompson is it?

Ok this has my curiosity peaked, can you post more pics?

6. Default

It looks to me like an M2 that has had a FRSB added and installed in a M1903 Type "S" stock so that the owner could practice with a .22 that simulated a M1903. Not rare, but uncommon. Herschel says that he sees them often at gun shows.
    FWIW

7. Default

First, I don't believe it is a Hoffer-Thompson. It looks and feels so much like just a regular issued 1903 Springfield. The stock is full length and parts and sights look identical. I tried to upload another picture and the site told me it was too large.