Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Winchester 70 Van Orden

Can anyone tell me if this is a documented Van Orden build?
    http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/Vie...Item=527993872

Thanks,
    Keith

2. Default

Since the seller implies this rifle had something to do with the USMC sniper program (USMC Unertl mounted), I will address it as pertains to the USMC programs. Van Orden called ALL of his Model 70 rifles "sniper rifles", although I have no knowledge of any Van Orden "sniper rifle" being used in combat - ever. I realize the seller does not specifically make the claim that this rifle is a USMC sniper rifle.

Let me preface my response with the caveat that I know very little about the Van Orden rifles. Having said that, the serial number of this rifle is outside the range of the set of 373 Model 70 rifles originally purchased by the Corps and delivered on May 29, 1942. The later Model 70 rifles acquired by the Corps, some purchased from Van Orden, were purchased by the rifle teams and fitted with heavier target barrels (many were Douglas barrels), not present on this rifle. The original set of Model 70 rifles used in RVN were SOS rifles (hunting rifles) not procured from Van Orden. The second set of Model 70 rifles used in RVN were rifle team rifles with their heavier than Sporter barrel rifles. This rifle seems to NOT meet the known characteristics of any of the known sets of Van Orden rifles sold to the Corps in my opinion (don't forget the caveat). I also notice the seller does not show the scope bona fides or USMC serial number. As far as I know, the Corps never sold any of the RVN Model 70 sniper rifles (many years later they still had Hathcock's rifle in stock), all of which suffered from corrosion due to the godawful RVN climate, which is also not exhibited by this rifle. I would definitely want to see the documentation the seller mentions before I bid on the rifle.