Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Value on All Matching, Non-Import, BYF 45 K-98 with Original Sling

I recently acquired this K98 through private owner, whom stated that his grandfather had brought this back from WWII
    but there are no documents to substantiate the claim. First off, I am no expert in the K98 and don't claim to be, in fact
    my knowledge is limited in this area. Information I list here is what I found through long researching and from comments
    and info obtained from those more versed and knowledgeable of the K98 rifles.
    My consensus is that either this rifle is a very, very early import prior to 1968 when import marks were required or in
    fact it is a vet bring back.

The rifle did have a light coat of shellac on it, that I assume the grandfather had applied after returning home to the states.
    I was able to easily remove the shellac using denatured alcohol, allowing 24 hr dry time, then applied couple coats of Lemon Oil
    with dry time in between coats and the coat of Tom's 1/3 mix. The pictures shows the results.

During the complete break down of the rifle, I inspected all parts and log stamps and markings that I found.
    Those results are as follows: View set of pictures here: http://imgur.com/a/uSoTK#0

1945 byf by Mauser Oberndorf

Early – Late War 1945
    Receiver Code: Mod 98
    byf 45 receiver proofs waf 135 (2) (on sides) waf 135 (1) (on top)

Side Rail: Blank

Serial Number: 5 digits (s/n 41973)

Upper Band: no s/n no waf speed milled

Lower Band: no s/n no waf stamped

Trigger Guard:
    no s/n byf and waf 135 (2) stamped with 2 screws

Bolt: Kriegsmodel (phosphate) Matching Numbers: 1973
    Safety on bottom appears to have waf

Front sight: Hood no waf

Rear Sight: meter scale no s/n waf 135 (bottom right side of sight)

Rear sight base: no s/n possible waf 135 (hard to make out)

Stock: Laminate

Stock Markings: (External Marks) Inside: (blurred waf and inverted V)
    Side: (rgt side under disk) WaA135