Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default using vintage ammo

I'm new to the Russian forum and this question may have been asked in the past but here goes: I have some vintage ammunition for my newly acquired rifle. Some of it is marked late 30's to early 40's. Others are marked "Norma". Is there anything I should know about this ammo before firing it through my 1943 Mosin? Thanks in advance. Rick B

Norma is most likely not too vintage as it's still being made today. If the ammo is in good shape then being from the 30's and 40's should not be a problem. Just have to clean your rifle as the ammo is corrosive except for the Norma which is non corrosive and reloadable.

3. Default

Tuna is correct, Norma ammo shouldn't be any problem at all. Save that brass. Vintage ammo should be fine also as long as it was stored properly. I recently shot some ammo from the 30's in an Austrian Steyr with no problem. I often shoot surplus from the early 50's in my Mosins. I have 8MM from the 30's, 40's and 50's that I shoot in Mausers all the time. Just remember this ammo will have corrosive primers and clean your rifle accordingly. Do a visual inspection before firing any surplus. Look for corrosion, neck splits or any other obvious defect. After firing, inspect the casings for cracks, pierced primers, etc. I have some Israeli surplus 8MM from the late 50's that looked fine but when I fired it I found 2 casings had ruptured in the chamber. I'm going to pull down the remainder of this ammo and use the bullets. Unfortunately I can't trust the boxer primed brass for reloading.

4. Default

Some of the ammo had some corrosion on it, not much and not deep but still there, a green surface discoloration that cleaned up pretty easily with a bit of steel wool. Could this have weakened the casing and made it unsafe to shoot? Again, thanks for your help. Rick B

5. Default