Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1873 Carbine

Default 1873 Carbine

I tried to post about my 1873 Carbine sn 33xxx and now can't find my post?? Anyway! How can I find out if this is a Custer Gun? It has been in my collection about 35 years. All complete, and I never thought much about it until I read the page in AMERICAN RIFLEMAN a few days ago. Now I'm wondering and would like more info. JT in Ga

I have now logged about 60 33,000 carbines, perhaps including yours - I've been collecting data for 45 years - but only a couple have any association with the 7th Cav. Of course, "33xxx" is meaningless - if you are seriously interested, I'll need the actual number. My three are 16572, 34752, and 43584. It would help to see pics to determine whther or not it has been upgraded, as well.

You piggybacked your" LOST "post onto the post MFG 1874 which Mr. Hosmer answered there also. Its not the best idea to start a new subject at the end of an older post many do not go back and recheck them. Hope that helps.
    Last edited by Tom Trevor; 07-26-2014 at 09:37.

Dick, the sn is 33747. I have never posted anything about this rifle anywhere. Its been in my collection about 35 years. Although I have always been interested in the Custer story, any even went out there two times to tour the field of battle, I never looked for any connection. I am very interested and I will post pictures as soon as I figure out how to do so. Any thing you can tell me will be very greatly appreciated. Also I would like to get your book.Thanks in advance. JW Tipton

5. Default

It is not listed in the SRS data.

Quote Originally Posted by jt2778 View Post