Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Floor plate popping off

I have a late production Remington M1903 and I'm having issues with the floor plate popping off. Any ideas on how to fix this? I was also having problems loading rounds into the magazine. It seems like the follower hits on the left side of the receiver and loading more than one round is either difficult or impossible and when I try to chamber a round it usually jams to the left and will not chamber. Lastly, seeings the proper trigger guard for this rifle was stamped, do I have the option of switching the milled trigger guard out for a stamped one. If so, are there any modifications necessary or would it be plug and play.

I truly appreciate any input as I am just learning about the 1903.

A common problem with floorplates popping off is caused by improper installation. The proper technique for installation is as follows. While holding the floorplate FULLY TO THE REAR, press the floorplate down until fully seated against the trigger guard. Then slide the floorplate forward until you hear a "click" which indicates that it's latched. If that doesn't work, then come back and we'll go from there.

A stamped trigger guard is fully interchangeable with a milled trigger guard. The cartridge feeding problem may be caused by a deformed magazine spring.

Hope this helps.

J.B.
    Last edited by John Beard; 01-20-2014 at 09:38.

After many attempts, the problem remains. I am able to get the floorplate in position and hear the metallic click. However, it will pop off with minimal side to side movement.
    Thanks again.

Boomer you might try dismantling the magazine box assembly. Drift out the pin that holds the floor plate catch. Give everything a good cleaning in solvent and inspect for nicks and burrs, The little coil spring should have a free length of 5/16" - 1/32". Lightly lubricate and reassemble.