Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Collectible Mausers ?

I have been collecting Mausers for about eight years now. I own a number of nice rifles including German, American, Swedish, Yugo, Argentine and Persian Mausers. Of course, I don't have examples of all the models of these rifles, but I intend to keep looking for good ones.

My question is what country's Mausers should I next be looking at/for ? I am only interested in quality made rifles that are shootable and will increase in value. I just started looking at some Turkish Mausers, but don't much about them and their quality. The prices on these Turks appear to be very reasonable, which makes me concerned about collecting them.

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated. Thanks

Do you have 1871 or 71/84 those should be in a Mauser collection as they were the first. They are shootable ammo isn't cheap but you are not going to be shooting them that much reloading is your friend. Sounds like you have most country's covered now start looking for variations in each country and upgrading along the way as you find better examples.

Collecting is just that-wherever your nose takes you.

I like varieties of things, others like whole racks of identical pieces.

Go with what interests you and learn from that. Its all good.

I have an fairly economical M71/84 I'd part with....

Quote Originally Posted by Michaelp View Post

I like varieties of things
    This is me.

I have been collecting them since the 1950's, Have sold many over the years but now have about 85. Like you I only have VG or better examples, unless they are rare models (not many of these). I decided long ago that I just could not get all years/models so I limit my collection to 1898 models made by FN- Germany- Czech- Yugo. The 98 was the last major improvement of the Mauser and thats why I decided on them. I do have examples of Mauser types by other countries, Japan, Siam, US 1903, etc. but only examples, not a complete collection.