Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default The Silence is Deafening

Not sure I even want to post this... last thing I want to do is get everyone riled up at Christmas on EITHER side of this thing. BUT.... One thing I've noticed. I think most of us are so stunned, I don't think we as veterans even want to talk about the end of "Don't Ask and Don't Tell," or any other aspect of this whole episode. I kind of think most of us are just left in shock and kind of want to forget about it. It's like the media: nobody's asking the veterans, nobody's listening to the veterans. I guess there is a wildly happy minority out there and a bunch of wine and cheese liberals who never put on a uniform that are happy as well. They got what they wanted.

Why should "veterans" have any say in current law or regs of the military? I am a vet too but don't think my opinion should have any weight on what they are doing. There were gays in the military when I was in (I'm sure) and they are there now! There are gays who very macho and there are the 'flaming limp wrist' types. The latter are not in the military.

And look at the bright side, if your fox hole buddy falls in love with you he will REALLY watch your back! hehehe! (no pun intended, of course)

Let's look 20 years or so down the road. We will then have senior ranking officers who are openly gay and they will be making the decisions about how the military will operate. What happens then??

I would expect him to base his decisions on the 20 years of experience he has. And to do what he has been doing for the previous 20 years.