Default Cold weather match

Shot a NRA high power match today with the 1903. Had fun as always but didn't shoot very well. The temperature was in the 20s and had to shovel snow away from the line to shoot prone. Two ARs stopped working during the match and I suspect the cold weather may have contributed. One shooter was able to work thru it but the other couldn't. Felt sorry for them but I was glad to be shooting a bolt gun. That will probably be the last match for me until spring.

Blog Entries

That's true grit! I may try out my 1903 on a high power event or two.
    Phillip McGregor (OFC)
    "I am neither a fire arms nor a ballistics expert, but I was a combat infantry officer in the Great War, and I absolutely know that the bullet from an infantry rifle has to be able to shoot through things." General Douglas MacArthur

Go for it, its fun. The muzzle blast really messes with the .223 guys next to you who are not used to standing next to a 30 cal.

I think from other posts you have been shooting a Garand in the CMP matches. I just got one this fall, so I'll try it next season. However, in a 30 round match I'm thinking the 03 might have a slight edge over the Garand. My reasoning is that in slow prone the bolt gun is just plain better. In rapids the Garand is better because you don't have to work the bolt and the recoil is lighter but the recoil effect isn't as bad in the prone position so the Garand advantage is minimized. In offhand shooter skill trumps all else but the bolt gun is still more accurate. Just my opinion, any thoughts? I think the Garand prevails in the 50 round course because of the sitting rapid.