Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Blog Entries

Question I want a Distinguished badge. What do I have to do?

I've done some Garand clinics and the last one I did I won with a M1903 just to see what I could do because even though I have two excellent Garands, me and my Mark I are on the same page. I don't own an AR platform and although I'm dubious about it's combat efficiency, there is no doubt it has the best potential accuracy. I'll buy or build one if I knew what to get. As best I can tell, there are no highpower matches within several states of me in Mississippi other that Garand and vintage bolt gun matches.

Can someone please tell me what to do to get started in highpower?
    Phillip McGregor (OFC)
    "I am neither a fire arms nor a ballistics expert, but I was a combat infantry officer in the Great War, and I absolutely know that the bullet from an infantry rifle has to be able to shoot through things." General Douglas MacArthur

The shortest answer I can give you, other than moving to an area where they hold EIC matches, is to go here: http://www.usrifleteams.com/
    Register and go to the National Match forum on the website where you can read a subsection that tells newbies all they need to know about shooting high power.

JohnnyM Guest

The Distinguished Marksmanship program is administered by the CMP or the Civilian Marksmanship Program. Go to the CMP website for information about equipment, matches, rules, times, dates, etc. Shoot as many matches as you can. Be prepared to spend ungodly amounts of time and money.

Practice practice practice, there are 4 folks in our club , (Bucksnort Rifle & Pistol, Marshall, Mo.) that are rated DM's, and that's their advice.

da gimp

Blog Entries

I've been doing that today! I've also been in contact with two DM's, Clyde Morgan and Doug Bowser. Thanks, guys
    Phillip McGregor (OFC)