PDA

View Full Version : Van Orden Winchester 70 Sniper

1shot
06-19-2010, 07:20
I have a documented Van Orden Model 70 Sniper Rifle that was sent to "QM TIC" in August 1954. Does anyone know what "QM TIC" stands for? My best guess is that it could be Quartermaster - Training and Indoctrination Command. Any help you can provide would be much appreciated.

John

Marine A5 Sniper Rifle
06-20-2010, 04:44
I thought the Van Orden sniper rifles were never used by the Corps, but sold by Van Orden and Lloyd to civilians instead. Since Van Orden and Lloyd's shop was in Quantico, why would the rifle be shipped to MBQ? Maj. Land did utilize M70's in 1961, but they came from SOS and commercial purchases, and not from Van Orden. Just curious. I am no expert in this field whatsoever.

Jim

jmoore
06-21-2010, 12:03
Marine A5 Sniper, it's entirely probable that M70s procurred for USMC use came from his establishment just outside the base in Quantico, Va. S/Ns can be checked against his records (they do exist and include shipping info). Most however, were team rifles and such.

1shot
06-21-2010, 06:36
I always cringe when I hear or see the word never as it relates to collecting US Military rifles, especially sniper rifles. A lot of the documents have be lost or misplaced. But the good news is that new information is always being uncovered. The rifle in question was one of 13 shipped to "QM-TIC" in August 1954. I understand SRS has some data that indicates these rifles were then shipped to Camp Perry from MBQ for the National Matches. I have some of Van Orden shop records for the Model 70's. These consist of index cards with each rifles information on it. Looks like there was at least one other contract from the USMC for Van Orden Special Target Rifles in 1956 (Contract NOm--68438 30Jan56). At least for the two USMC contracts I know about, the Van Ordens had Marksman-type stocks.