PDA

View Full Version : WWII Helmet

limazulu
04-30-2010, 08:56
36543655365636573658 This helmet I received from my Godfather, Col. Ira Stinson, Marine, Graduated Air War College 1954. The pin I stuck in the hole in front. He signed the inside. I believe it's a McCord Steel Shell M1 Helmet #95D. I think he said he wore on Normandy but I might be wrong about that. I'm still learning to take these kind of pictures.

emmagee1917
05-03-2010, 08:45
I don't think any marines were at Normandy. If you can list the division (s) he was in and the dates , someone here can tell you where he was.
Chris

JBinIll
05-03-2010, 10:39
I don't think any marines were at Normandy. If you can list the division (s) he was in and the dates , someone here can tell you where he was.
Chris

The battleships Texas,Arkansas,and Nevada took part in the D-Day landings.They would have had Marine contingents on them.They wouldn't have been among the invasion troops but would have been there on ships.The Cruisers had 80 man detachments manning 5-inch guns and battleships had 200 man detachments.

Some Marine officers helped the British in planning their part of the invasion.There were Marines around on D-Day but it appears from available information were kept out of any usefull service due to inter-service rivalry at the time.Investigating Col.Stinson's service record might turn up some interesting history.

limazulu
05-04-2010, 12:48
Some Marine officers helped the British in planning their part of the invasion.There were Marines around on D-Day but it appears from available information were kept out of any usefull service due to inter-service rivalry at the time.Investigating Col.Stinson's service record might turn up some interesting history.

I was able to get my Dad's service record but I didn't think you could get just anybody's service record. Would you apply for the info the same way?

limazulu
05-04-2010, 12:50
Chris