PDA

View Full Version : Know the Fish and Game Laws

Art
06-30-2022, 06:01
Unfortunately my fishing days are about over. I'm especially too "stove up" to do any really active fishing and today my Orvis Performer fly rod and the gear that goes with it is going to a fellow who will use it. So now I do something I've never done before, watch an occasional fishing video.

I've watched a few videos about fishing the paved channelized bayous in Houston. These support a surprisingly large populations of fish. Many of these fish such as tilapia and grass carp are destructive invasive species that by law have to be immediately killed if they are caught.

If you want to catch and release that's fine, but putting these fish back in the water besides being illegal and carrying some hefty fines is really, and I mean really, bad for the environment. Why not just throw in an handful of zebra mussels? I've watched several of these videos and have yet to see one where these fishermen didn't return these destructive fish to the water.

As a sort of an aside note....there is terminology used by folks who regularly fish these bayous. For example the grass carp is the "Braes Bayou bonefish" and the abandoned shopping carts or bikes found in the bayous are "Braes Bayou mangroves."

P.S. In addition these bayous contain large numbers of abandoned aquarium fish, especially armored catfish that need to be removed.

Allen
06-30-2022, 07:26
I use to salt water fish with my kids when they were younger. With salt water you never know what you're going to catch.

Here, in the Gulf, the most invasive species is probably the lion fish. I've never caught one. I know they have no natural enemies and can't be handled by most people so I imagine people just cut the lines when they see they're reeling one of these things in.

I don't see how the wardens could enforce fines forcing people to touch and not release these.