PDA

View Full Version : Gold as a long term investment

BudT
09-07-2021, 11:33
Been thinking about buying some 1 oz gold American coins as a long term inter generational investment to pass on to the kids or grand kids. I'm no expert on this investing stuff but do know that precious metals are a part of a well balanced portfolio. I don't do any stocks or bonds all I do is save or buy guns. I guess I'm concerned about this government coming after private property to so other than what I live in I don't buy. I keep trying to talk myself into a piece of hunting property but I'm resisting. Gold good? or bad? I like gold, it's purdy. :evil6:

Allen
09-07-2021, 12:32
Don't forget silver too.

Suppose chit hits the fan and our currency becomes worthless. Merchants will only take precious metals. You go to the store to buy a loaf of bread and let's say that because of the climate of the economy that loaf of bread is $20. How you going to pay with gold? With silver you can hand them an old worn out Washington quarter (or such) and be on your way.

Just my thoughts though. If you do invest in silver just buy worn coins that have no collector value. You'll be wanting them for the melt value only.

https://www.ngccoin.com/price-guide/coin-melt-values.aspx

Art
09-07-2021, 01:04
Gold and silver are high now so it's not a good time for speculators. For you, it would be quite ok as a long term investment, especially a hedge against inflation and the kids and grand kids will definitely appreciate it. Allen is right about not forgetting about silver. Bullion silver coins, that is old US silver currency coins (dimes, quarters, ect) that are common dates and mint marks and worn enough they have lost their numismatic value are a good bet. The great thing about the coins is they are in actual US currency, are self proving with known silver content, and are almost never counterfeited.

Merc
09-07-2021, 01:07
https://goldprice.org/gold-price-history.html