PDA

View Full Version : .22 LR revolver

Greyjoy
12-06-2018, 06:43
Looking for suggestions on a good .22 revolver. Something with a 4" barrel. Thoughts?

Emri
12-06-2018, 07:26
Double action or single action ? What is your price range? Lots of choices, need a few specifics of what you are looking for.

bruce
12-06-2018, 10:19
Look around and find and buy a S&W model 18. I have been shooting S&W 17 and 18 revolvers since 1982. For the range and for the woods and fields, the model 18 is simply ideal beyond words. It is the very best .22 LR revolver ever produced by any one at any time period. Get one. You'll very much be thrilled with it. Sincerely. bruce.

Greyjoy
12-06-2018, 02:04
My preference would be a DA revolver. I've had a High Standard Sentinel Deluxe suggested to me. From what I can tell, the gun went out of production in the late 1960's/early 1970's. Has anyone owned one?

gwp
12-06-2018, 02:43
I have a High Standard Sentinal convertible in 22LR / 22 Mag. I purchased it for my Dad because he liked 22 Magnum rifles. I found it used for less than $100 and the barrel underlug reminded me of a Colt Detective Special. People would occasionally ask what I was shooting at the range. When loaded with 22 magnums the noise and muzzle flash was impressive. There is really nothing special about the Sentinal, but it is an economical plinker.

I believe the Sentinal Deluxe may have an aluminum frame. The Sentinel MK I and MK IV were the first of the series to have a steel frame.

Allen
12-06-2018, 03:46
Look around and find and buy a S&W model 18. I have been shooting S&W 17 and 18 revolvers since 1982. For the range and for the woods and fields, the model 18 is simply ideal beyond words. It is the very best .22 LR revolver ever produced by any one at any time period. Get one. You'll very much be thrilled with it. Sincerely. bruce.

+1