PDA

View Full Version : Stock wood question?

adrianbnz
07-18-2016, 11:01
Hope this is an easy answer.
What type of wood are the original M1917 stocks? Walnut or some other? My Winchester stocked Eddystone looks like walnut but.......I'm no timber expert.

Cheers
Adrian

dave
07-19-2016, 04:57
walnut. I have never seen otherwise.

adrianbnz
07-19-2016, 10:27
walnut. I have never seen otherwise.

Great! Thank you for that.

Stephan
07-29-2016, 07:03
My Eddystone has an obviously Winchester stock(big W on the tip)....doesn't look like normal dark walnut stocks as usually seen on M1917 rifles as it's rather light in color. I asked much the same question here after I got the cool old rifle and was assured it about had to be walnut....

adrianbnz
08-05-2016, 08:06
My Eddystone has an obviously Winchester stock(big W on the tip)....doesn't look like normal dark walnut stocks as usually seen on M1917 rifles as it's rather light in color. I asked much the same question here after I got the cool old rifle and was assured it about had to be walnut....

Hi Stephan
My Winchester stock is quite dark with nice figuring which was why I was fairly sure it was walnut but not 100% sure. I googled American walnut and some of the images show it being quite light but I'm no expert.
Yep you're right. They are cool old rifles!

Cheers
Adrian

PhillipM
08-05-2016, 08:20
Hi Stephan
My Winchester stock is quite dark with nice figuring which was why I was fairly sure it was walnut but not 100% sure. I googled American walnut and some of the images show it being quite light but I'm no expert.
Yep you're right. They are cool old rifles!

Cheers
Adrian

Google black Walnut. I read somewhere the arsenals used the boy scouts to find suitable trees in the forests.

dave
10-03-2016, 12:04