PDA

View Full Version : High Standard "Victor" pistol

Calfed
12-17-2015, 10:29
I've wanted a High Standard target pistol for some time and recently won a "Victor" at an auction ...

http://i.imgur.com/zgbq0eq.jpg?1
http://i.imgur.com/tuXYWl8.jpg?1

I'm new to HS's, and am wondering if this is one of the better HS target pistols.

Unfortunately in California, there is a list of "Olympic " pistols exempt from the Roster of Approved Handguns. It only has 5 HS's on it, so I was very limited on my choices.

gwp
12-17-2015, 11:02
It looks like you have a earlier HS Victor manufactured in 1972-1973. It should be a good one and it should have a steel rib (1971-1973) on it rather than the later aluminum rib. I used an early Victor for bull-eye competition and also purchased a late model Victor without the take down plunger. Both Victors shot very well. Quite a few High Standard pistols were used for match shooting in the 70s and 80s.

Jim in Salt Lake
12-18-2015, 10:02
I've got a 107 Military, too. Mine is mid 60's vintage. I still use it for indoor NRA gallery leagues and it isn't the only HS on the line. I also see a lot of Rugers, Brownings, as well as some Pardini's and Hammerli's. You did good, you'll enjoy it, they are still good target pistols.

lyman
12-18-2015, 01:50
Victors were the top of the line until the 10X came out,

great pistols,

blackhawknj
12-18-2015, 07:45
Bought mine in 1972, it's the handgun I learned to shoot with.

Jay Johnson
12-19-2015, 02:57
The HS 107-series was the second series to offer the military grip designed to mimic the grip angle of the M1911A1, the 107-series incorporated machining improvements to the hammer spring channel that eliminated the need for a brass plug found on the military grip 106-series pistols at the base of the grips rear heel.