PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on a 520-30 trench gun

Cactuskid
09-22-2015, 03:31
3250632507325083250932510Hello all, Newbie here in need of some advice on a Stevens 520-30 that I picked up on a trade some years ago. The gun is in excellent condition, but the original heat shield was discarded and a multi choke was sweated on to the barrel. Kinda looks like the one in the 1965 American Rifleman ad in Canfield's book. The barrel appears to be uncut and measures exactly 20" from the end of the muzzle. Unfortunately, Bubba cut the original buttstock down and installed a leather boot. I found a 520 riot gun stock to use in the meantime. The finish looks original, but I'm not 100% sure. If it was refinished, they did a hellava nice job. Since the gun is in such good shape, I've decided that I'd like to restore it to it's original trenchie format as much as possible. If I can't find a loose original heat shield, I may get one of the Taylor LLC reproductions until an original can be found. Although I know the riot gun buttstock can be modified to accept a sling swivel, I would prefer to find an original trench gun buttstock. Please take a look at the attached pics. I would very much appreciate your opinions and advice as to whether this would be a worthwhile project. If any of you has any stuff that I need to restore this gun that you'd like to sell, please let me know. Thanks, Richard

Cactuskid
09-22-2015, 03:36
3251132512325133251432515More pics...

SPEEDGUNNER
09-22-2015, 05:56
Hard to tell from pictures if receiver has been refinished. Take a close look at any of the markings on the receiver and the barrel, if it has been refinished there is a good chance they will no longer be sharp. There should be a number on the nose of the buttstock. Does it match receiver and barrel extension? The handguard/bayo lug show up for sale here occasionally, or do a search. Good luck.

Cactuskid
09-22-2015, 07:45