PDA

View Full Version : 7th Cavalry Serial Numbers

cwbuff
04-16-2015, 03:28
Is there a good reference that documents the known serial numbers of US M1873 carbines issued to the 7th Cavalry? From what I have seen, it appears to be an area of active research.

Dick Hosmer
04-16-2015, 05:45
Not in one place. I've been compiling numbers from various sources for nearly 50 years, and have recorded about 1200 early carbines. Of those, about 70 have some degree (from ironclad to very tenuous) of provenance to the 7th Cav. All of the numbers I have will be published in the book I am finishing up now - hopefully out this year, but more likely next.

Was that a rhetorical question, or did you have a specific number in mind? About the best I can do at the present time is tell you whether it is in a "hot" area, or way out in left field. Known 7th guns run from 12221 to 43617.

cwbuff
04-17-2015, 08:40
I will be interested in buying your book when it comes out. I have an early M1873 carbine. I like to research the items in my collection - it gives them more meaning to me from both a historical and technical perspective. I have done some research on Wilder Brigade Spencer rifles. From that research it became clear that the guns were not crated, shipped and issued in serial number order. I assume the M1873 carbines were done in a similar manner. Clearly our ancestors did not have any consideration for future collectors - but they sure did make a good sport out of trying to figure it all out.

Here are some pics of my M1873 carbine:

cwbuff
04-17-2015, 08:43
...and some additional pics:

Dick Hosmer
04-17-2015, 09:45
Thanks for sharing the pics - a nice looking gun, overall. It was a new number to me, falling between previously recorded carbines 33729 and 33742.

FWIW, 32811, 33759 and 34874 were surveyed out of the 7th, at Ft. Keogh in April of 1878. Were they with Reno/Benteen et al, at LBH? No one knows - that is what I mean by tenuous.