PDA

View Full Version : New (to me) 1868 Trapdoor Rifle

steelap
02-02-2015, 01:43
Just received an 1868 Trapdoor rifle, purchased from the CMP Forum.

Here is a link to the seller's pictures: http://imgur.com/a/htosn

I just purchased Mr. Hosmer's book.

The hammer screw and the cleaning rod are missing. Should I pick them up from Trapdooorcollector.com? Will any of the 50-70 hammer screws there be appropriate?

The only 1868 cleaning rod they have is a repro. I can live with that if I have to.

What should I do to ensure the rifle is safe to shoot? Mr Rush at Trapdoors Galore offers a consulting service to determine if the rifle is safe to fire, and what parts it needs. As a rank newbie I don't know anything about him. Cany anyone offer a suggestion?

Last (I promise) question. If I am to fire this rifle I will need to reload ammunition for it. $5/round seems pretty steep for manufactured ammo. Accordingly, I will need to slug the bore to determine the correct diameter for the bullet. I have read that the older rifles need a larger bullet than the reproduction ones. Question - How do you slug the bore, and how do you take the measurement.

Many thanks to all.

Fred
02-02-2015, 03:54
You don't need to send it off to anyone for any fee. No doubt that he tried to talk you into that.
I have always molded my own bullets from Dixie Gun Works. It's their old 450 grain flat nosed bullet mold made of steel that has the Red scissor type handles. red in color. Dixie also sells the 50-70 brass cases that take Large Rifle Primers.

Mark Daiute
02-02-2015, 05:34
Just received an 1868 Trapdoor rifle, purchased from the CMP Forum.

Here is a link to the seller's pictures: http://imgur.com/a/htosn

I just purchased Mr. Hosmer's book.

The hammer screw and the cleaning rod are missing. Should I pick them up from Trapdooorcollector.com? Will any of the 50-70 hammer screws there be appropriate?

The only 1868 cleaning rod they have is a repro. I can live with that if I have to.