PDA

View Full Version : Dry firing a rimfire

PhillipM
09-23-2014, 10:19
I have a 1962 Browning 22 auto I've been shooting for 40 years and I would imagine since the bolt does not hold open on the last round, I've dry fired it at the end of nearly every magazine I've shot.

I also have a couple of Colt Woodsmans that I've not fired nearly as much but have the same issue of no hold open feature, so usually the chamber gets an empty snap at the end.

Did JMB design these so that the chamber would not be peened? If so are there others that can safely be dry fired?

CHW2021
09-24-2014, 05:26
That I am aware of, no .22 is designed to be dry fired. The firing pin is intended to impact the rim and in it's absence can strike the edge of the chamber/barrel creating a burr or stressing the firing pin and possibly leading to breakage or distortion. Everyone does it, not that it is advisable or terminally damaging, but not recommended.
My Mossberg (forget model #) has broken several firing pins as the design is rather weak, it is stressed under firing and seems to be cushioned only by striking the softer brass. The upside is that I have relatively few mis-fires even with cheap bulk ammo.

kcw
09-24-2014, 05:30
I have a 1962 Browning 22 auto I've been shooting for 40 years and I would imagine since the bolt does not hold open on the last round, I've dry fired it at the end of nearly every magazine I've shot.

I also have a couple of Colt Woodsmans that I've not fired nearly as much but have the same issue of no hold open feature, so usually the chamber gets an empty snap at the end.

Did JMB design these so that the chamber would not be peened? If so are there others that can safely be dry fired?

If your circa 1962 Browning is the Challenger model (that was the 1st year for that model) you can dry fire it without issue, according to the owner's manual.

Emri
09-24-2014, 07:02
Phillip,