PDA

View Full Version : anybody see in srs

GasTrapsForMe
09-11-2014, 06:45
Has anybody with the srs books noticed any serial numbers related to the state of montana? I don't have numbers to truly look up. Just wondering if anyone has noticed any well they were going through their books. Thank you for any help. Kevin

Dick Hosmer
09-11-2014, 06:46
I haven't specicifically looked, nor do I recall an example, but I would be amazed if there were not at least some listings. I can look, but it won't be today or tomorrow.

Major Tom
09-12-2014, 03:27
Speaking aout the SRS books: can a private owner of said books make copies to be given/sold to other private individuals? So many requests for serial numbers would make it alot more convieniet to many people. Just curious.

Dick Hosmer
09-12-2014, 07:32
Opening disclamer: I am NOT a lawyer.

You have raised an interesting point, however, as the data contained in the books is, AFAIK, all in the public domain. The format, and presentation of same, is, however, the intellectual property of SRS.

I have always believed that quoting excerpts in one's own words would be acceptable, but I am certain that verbatim reproduction, as in photocopying, would definitely be protected by the SRS copyright - which is clearly stated in each volume. While a couple of lines given freely would probably not be worth prosecution, reproducing (and especially selling) an entire volume would (and should!) be illegal.

My publisher and I will soon be involved in a "test", so to speak, of one nuance of this issue. I plan to include, in their respective chapters, lists of serial numbers only of certain trapdoor models, some of which were found in the SRS books, which of course are credited, along with many other secondary references, in the extensive bibliography. The water is further muddied by the fact that - in the 1873 Carbine chapter particularly - many of the numbers can be found in multiple sources, so there is no SRS exclusivity.