PDA

View Full Version : National Match Trigger Group

Cosine26
05-03-2014, 07:49
Any idea what a real NM M1 trigger group is worth?

bd1
05-04-2014, 03:44
What makes it different from any other trigger group unless there's a rifle serial # grease penciled on the inside of the floorplate and maybe you can see where the hammer + sear hooks are stoned and squared? Standalone, it's worth the going rate for a trigger group that's had a trigger job (if done right). Still have the rest of the rifle it was matched to? Not "priceless" but the package is obviously worth a lot, esp w/ documentation. That's all that occurs to my feeble mind.

Jay Johnson
05-04-2014, 06:42
It depends, is it a post war trigger group or WWII era components? As bd1 wrote above, how do you know it's a NM trigger group?

Cosine26
05-04-2014, 10:42
It is a long story so take it for what it's worth. In the late 50's and the 60's I was a contractor working on a military base. There was an on-base rifle club and many of the post rifle team members were members of that club. I became good friends with them, particularly the team armorer. Because I also belonged to a civilian club that has 30 firing points to 1000 yards (the post range only went to 300 yards) and because I was a personal friend to Jack Moore (owner of the civilian range) , I worked out an arrangement so that the post team could use the civilian range for matches and "rattle battle' practice. Each year when the post team attended the Nationals at Perry, and exchanged in their NM M1's for the latest edition. Before turning in the M1's they retained a couple of the better NM trigger groups to use as "spares" in case one of the team rifles developed a problem during a match. (Yes M1's have been known to fail during a match). These trigger groups could be substituted quickly.