PDA

View Full Version : Feeling Old............

usmc69
03-03-2014, 05:25
Forty-Five years ago today (3/3/1969), I joined the Corps. Twenty Four active and now twenty one Retired. There are times when I wish I was still there.

dave
03-03-2014, 05:56
I know the feeling, even tho I only served 4 years. I intended to stay the 20 but things happen, like a wife and kids! I didn't listen when told
"If the military wanted you to have a wife they would have issued one". Oh well, I still have the wife, 60 years now!

phil441
03-04-2014, 10:38
I think the reason so many of us feel that way is that we were in the best physical condition we'd ever know again.......

joet
09-04-2014, 04:53
I think the reason so many of us feel that way is that we were in the best physical condition we'd ever know again.......

How True!!!

Griff Murphey
09-07-2014, 08:32
Forty years ago I was a senior dental student on a month and a half vacation at the officers training school at Newport, Rhode Island, for dental officer indoctrination. After 7 years Army ROTC I was real glad to put my Army commission in my rear view mirror. One day I received my orders as to where I would serve. They were in blue mimeograph. I was going to NAHA? Where the hell was NAHA? Naha, California, sounded right, when I tried it out.

The CDR who was teaching the class got a good laugh out of it and informed me I had not joined the Navy, but rather, the Marine Corps, the 3rd Mar Div to be specific, and was headed for the Far East.

Michaelp
09-09-2014, 12:34
Enlisted 1966 to beat the draft. I had a student deferment, but GPA dropped to "Red Meat " level and I was a goner.

Signed for Airborne Infantry-never claimed I was smart.

Ended up doing four years, senn some stuff, good and bad. Got a few wounds, from negligeable to real serious.
Saw way too much misery living with the border folks.
Did not care for the regimentation or power trips we had to put up with.