PDA

View Full Version : Remington model 10 riot gun

BOB IN AZ
01-11-2014, 09:07
I have photos given to me by two different collectors. I have known one of them for some time, the other just sent me pics of his Model 10. My question to the experts on the page are.............

(1).. both serial numbers are close but yet the markings ( especially ) the Ordnance markings are quite different. Can someone shed some light on this, as I don't know enough about this subject

(2)... Can there really be two different types of marking on guns fairly close in the serial numbered range.

(3)... the gun with the most photos, I think the number is in the 149,XXX range is marked 10-A

http://s661.photobucket.com/user/THIRDHERD1965/slideshow/MYPHOTOS/REM-10

(4)... the gun with the less photos is 150084 is marked 10-R

http://s661.photobucket.com/user/THIRDHERD1965/slideshow/MYPHOTOS/REMINGTON-M10%20RIOT

thanks bob ( thirdherd1965@cox.net )

GWS
01-11-2014, 10:16
I am no expert, but the pics I looked at of the 149xxx gun show a retamped MOD choke marking, a "cut-off" barrel(no front sight???) and a 10 A marking. I did not look at all the photos, but those three tell the story for me----it ain't right! Riots were all CYL barrels marked 10R. The 150084 looks refinished(can't really tell, maybe just the pics) but the other important details seem correct. Keep in mind Remington model10 martially marked shotguns are extremely rare. Caution advised!

BOB IN AZ
01-11-2014, 10:36
GWS, thanks for your input, I couldn't even attempt to buy one now. I just like to gather as much info on this hobby and try and find out what right and what is wrong with these weapons. I did notice the 150,000 gun had serif lettering while the other did not. That was the first thing that kind of made me think about asking the forum for input.

Steve Preston
01-12-2014, 03:36