PDA

View Full Version : CMP/Criterion replacement Krag barrels...

mhb
01-10-2014, 09:08
I've been shooting Krags for many years, but have never yet found one with a good bore that actually had a nominal groove diameter (.308"). In fact, those I've been shooting run between .309" and .311", and, while they shoot quite well with appropriate-diameter bullets, I can't help but feel that the best performance would come from one of the many, more readily available .308" bullets in a correctly-proportioned bore.
When CMP announced the availability of their Criterion barrels, I rejoiced, and, trusting in the reputation of Krieger (who then operated Criterion as a subsidiary), ordered 2 of them.
I was sorely disappointed with them on several counts:
1: the bore diameter of both was .302" (which is not necessarily a show-stopper, and is not uncommon in button-rifled barrels), but the groove diameter was a full .309" - no better than my originals.
2: while the barrels were correctly threaded, index-marked, and had the front sight base dovetail and rear-sight screw holes located and milled/drilled, the front sight base was not attached (would have to be provided and installed by the purchaser) and the screw holes were not for the original thread.
3: though the barrels were described as 'short chambered', they were in fact fully chambered, and as large in every dimension as the original military chambers, readily accepting any original Krag cartridge I tried in them. Had they been actually rough-chambered, I'd have been able to finish ream them with a match reamer and throat them separately for the bullets I intended to use.
After determining all these things, I decided not to use them, and sold one of them ( I still have one).
I actually contacted the production manager at Criterion, and he was unable to provide satisfactory explanation of any of the problems named.
So...
Who has actually used any of these barrels, and with what results?
Thanks;
mhb - Mike

keith.herrington