PDA

View Full Version : 45 ACP case flash hole revelations

Matt Anthony
12-20-2013, 02:42
I've been shooting and reloading for over 55 years and recently I have seen something that is disturbing. I was reloading 45 ACP and cleaning the primer pockets when I noticed a Winchester case with a huge flash hole. There was just enough material at the bottom of the pocket to stop the primer from falling into the case. Sorting the different cases, I noticed that there were Federal primers also with huge flash holes.
I checked all 1450 cases and came up with 33 Winchester and 14 Federal. These were once fired cases taken from our range. They looked absolutely new!
Anyway, I was thankful I inspect every case as this could of been a bigger problem if these cases were fired.
Matt

joem
12-20-2013, 04:48
I've seen a few that I picked up at the range. I think they were from ammo listed as enviroment friendly or some such nonsense.

emmagee1917
12-20-2013, 08:55
I remember back when , when CCI ( I think ) made plastic bullets to be powered by a primer for indoor practice . The .38s had thier own little plastic cases , but the .45s were to be fired in standard .45 cases with the primer hole drilled out . This somehow prevented primer set back in the primer alone powered loads. this made the cases unsuitable for powdered power loads.
The " green " loads , AFAIK , are all small primered and normal sized holes and have TMJ bullets , although they advertise them as FMJs.
Chris

Hefights
12-20-2013, 06:54
Could you be picking up one person's brass who is for some reason drilling the holes? (All found on same range?)

Tuna
12-20-2013, 07:03
Chris is right I think. It was standard practice years ago to drill out the primer pocket for a load that could be used indoors or down in the basement. Many loaded the case with a wax bullet powered just by the primer.

raymeketa
12-20-2013, 07:24