PDA

View Full Version : Barrel Break in Queston

JohnMOhio
12-14-2013, 09:59
I know this has been discussed here before regarding break in procedures. I read them and since I had never purchased a New Rifle, they always had been used, therefore I never had the opportunity to do a break in procedure. Until now.

I like a good boy, read my instruction manual since this is the first AR 15 I have owned. Never shot one either. Manufacturer is Rock River. A National Match A4. The instructions listed a break in is not needed since the barrel has been lapped. Since I am new to this, did any of you Rock River owners do a beak in anyways or skip it?

Owners of other AR 15's, did your instruction manual suggest a barrel break in procedure?

Thanks in advance to all that reply.
John

PhillipM
12-15-2013, 12:16
Compass Lake has this procedure:

NEW BARREL BREAK-IN PROCEDURES

Your new barrel will shoot best if careful attention is given to a proper break-in. Differing opinions exist; however, we recommend that no more than 20 rounds are fired at the time before cleaning the barrel for the first 60 rounds. Your barrel must be thoroughly cleaned each time for the first 120 rounds.

Procedure for thorough cleaning: in all cases, it is vital that cleaning tools (brushes, patches, etc.) be pushed from the breech to the muzzle and then removed from the end of the rod at the muzzle end. DO NOT drag anything back through the muzzle.

Clean the bore with JB Bore Cleaner after 100 rounds as follows:

1. Work the JB into the patch.

2. Wrap the patch around a worn bronze bore brush (not nylon).

3. Using a bore guide, stroke back and forth for 5 strokes in the first half of the barrel. (Breech Half) Push patch through the muzzle and unscrew brush from rod and carefully remove rod from barrel.

4. Remove old patch from brush.

5. Repeat steps 1 - 5 for 5 complete cycles.

Note: A neglected barrel may require this to be repeated for many more cycles until it is smooth.