PDA

View Full Version : M1 Carbine

Brad in Idaho
12-11-2013, 11:02
I'm going to be handloading for M1 Carbines. I will be using H110 powder, and 100 and 110 grain bullets of various manufacture.

I have some questions. Does military M1 carbine brass (LC) have a crimped primer? Should I use the CCI military small rifle primers, or just regular? Should I crimp the finished round? I have carbide dies. I have seen some say not to lube with these dies, and others say to still lube cases. What say you? This is my first time loading .30 caliber carbine so any other thoughts or tips would be appreciated. Thanks.

rickgman
12-11-2013, 12:19
Brad, I can't answer all of your questions but there are a few things I can tell you that might help. Firstly, I found that I had approx. 5% perforated primers when using Winchester small rifle primers. I switched to Federal small rifle match primers (which have a thicker cup) and the problem went away. I always lubed my carbine cases since they are kind of a long case and I felt that there was probably considerable friction while resizing as opposed to a relatively short straight walled case like .45 ACP or 9mm. Crimping is not necessary - neck tension hold the bullet in place and most seating dies remove the bell from the case mouth (assuming you use an expander die).

Litt'le Lee
12-11-2013, 01:38
always use lube as the case is not a straight wall case--even carbide dies-I listened to the wrong people and did not lube-resulting in case sererating and a ruined chamber-
I found WW cases need reaming but not LC--no crimp-adjust your #2 die to just hold the bullet

Brad in Idaho
12-11-2013, 03:23
"...adjust your #2 die to just hold the bullet" I'm a little confused about that, can you explain?

joem
12-11-2013, 04:01