PDA

View Full Version : I'm having trouble with my Lee molds ...

dogtag
08-11-2013, 02:41
I've been casting for close to 30 years and I have 15 Lee molds
some of which I haven't used in years. At one time Lee only
sold single cavity molds, so I have a bunch of those which have
never given me any trouble except casting takes forever.
So, I replaced my SKS and my 185 grn 311 singles for doubles
as the singles are kinda labor intensive..
After casting just over a hundred 185 grn bullets I found that
the gas checks won't fit. And just now my SKS mold fell apart.
The pin fell out. I put it back but it keeps coming loose.
I guess i'll have to take this up with Lee, but I just wondered If
anyone else has had problems.

p246
08-11-2013, 03:58
I've found Lee mods are more tempurature sensitive than Lyman and more fragile. However they've always stood behind therir product with a phone call. The only single mold I have is the 12 gauge slug mold. All others are doubles.

Matt Anthony
08-15-2013, 03:57
Years back I had a similar problem with two Lee 30 caliber bullet moulds. I didn't like the aluminum factor nor did I like the bullet shape. One has to be very careful with the Lee moulds because the aluminum is soft compared to steel and will dent easier if you happen to drop it. The pin problem was also an issue along with very tight fitting gas checks. Needless to say, I put the moulds back in my casting cabinet and left them there to remind me not to buy aluminum moulds again.