PDA

View Full Version : a blackpowder 45 load under 12,000 CUP?

LARscout
07-30-2013, 03:38
Gents, Im not an expert on black powder burn rates for the revolver.

I need a 45 ACP load (to be used ex-changeably with 45 auto rim) .452 230 lead RN
to be loaded with 2F German Schutzen powder for a Webley Mark 6 (able to take 12-13,000 CUP).

Any charge suggestions or if this is the right powder to replicate 19th century ammunition with?

m1ashooter
07-30-2013, 05:18
Hope this article helps.

http://www.rathcoombe.net/sci-tech/classics/webley/webley-mk-vi.html

LARscout
08-13-2013, 12:09
Thanks, its a start, except he used FFg in a 45 cal revolver. Not sure how how Schutzen's 2F measures with Hodgdon.
I can only see 2F grain powder in this loading as a ways of keeping the pressures down. Maybe that was his intent.

His load:
Hodgdon H-777 FFg 1.452 OAL with a (455-265 gr RNHB)
13.5 gr 693 fps Very consistent

John Sukey
08-14-2013, 11:35
I doubt if you could load enough BP in a case to bother a Mk6 Webley since it was designed for smokeless powder. OR for that matter why you would want to do so.
It might be an issue with a Mk1 or a Mk2, even then I doubt it

LARscout
08-14-2013, 03:50
I intend to replicate the original load. Also because I like having a wider range of powders to chose from. Simplifies logistics.

So 15-18grs of any 2F powder will be safe you think?

emmagee1917
08-15-2013, 09:12
Remember , you want the load to set up to the base of the bullet or be slightly compressed . Any air gap could cause a ringed chamber. You can use filler if the load does not reach ( cornmeal IIRC , it's been awhile ) . FWIW , I loaded .45acp up to the base of the bullet with 3F and ran 50 rds through my Thompson just to see if it'd work. It did , but the smoke blocked the target about 1/2 way through a mag dump.
Chris

LARscout
08-15-2013, 07:22
Good to know, I'll make a note of that in my reloading log.

Dollar Bill
08-16-2013, 04:17