PDA

View Full Version : Price on a 2005 Springfield Armory 1911-A1

fem
05-06-2013, 10:18
My Brother's Widow wants me to buy the 1911-A1 he bought in 2005...It's the "Military Model" Parkerized, no bells or whstles. I know he didn't shoot it a lot... He just wanted it for Home Defense. I shot it a few years ago and it is still "cherry" What would a more than fair price be? I'm thinking $ 400 Am I too low? It's so sad. I was at his bedside when we both know he was taking his final cruise (he was a CPO, Cob of the SSN Permit actually. Torpedo-Man by trade. He told me to unload it as I was going back to Texas from Florida...He didn't want her to have to worry about it...Also unloaded his 2nd Generation SA Colt 45 Revolver. It was so sad. He was a fine man, very kind hearted (yet frugal with his $) She wanted me to buy his SA Colt as well....I told her no way, and that if she didn't want to give it to her Son or Son-in-Law (Both good gun guys and fine men) To hang on to it for a Loooong time and then I would sell it for her. She's taking my advice. Thanks for your comments and suggestions.

ignats
05-07-2013, 02:06
I would check on the price of a new one or similar one retail. If you like the pistol, and it's in reasonably good shape price accordingly. "I can buy a new one or one pretty much like it for $XXX this one is in decent shape, but it is used. I would pay $YYY." Or you can see what they're going for on auction. That's about the fairest way I know to handle something like that.

KeithNyst
05-07-2013, 04:50
For a current price, here is one on GB that will close in about an hour. It is at $516, with 11 bids so far.
http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=339460694

Bill H
05-08-2013, 08:11
I bought one a few years ago at a gun auction for about 350.00. It was in original box, no indication of having been used. Considering that the seller paid a fee of 15-25% to the auction, I think your $400 is reasionable.

Mike Josephic
05-27-2013, 12:03