PDA

View Full Version : This cant be normal

LARscout
03-15-2013, 08:27
So I found out why the wheel on my Webley can still rotate left and right about 1/8in when locked and ready to shoot.
This is my first and last revolver so I have no experience as to whether this is something to be expected.

There is a rectangular notch above the trigger that clicks into a larger/wider rectangular depression on the wheel. The depression Im talking about is along the center under and above the letter B on the diagram.

Some immediate concerns are...if there is so much of this movement...the pin might strike the primer offcenter and the chamber may not even perfectly align with the barrel...thus deforming the bullet and creating other problems.

http://www.gunsandammo.com/files/2012/02/Webley-2.jpg

M1Garandy
03-15-2013, 10:33
I think there was a thread on Milsurps.com about this in the recent past but I can't find it.

EDIT: I found it but it relates to Enfield revolvers, not sure how or if it would apply to a Webley: http://www.milsurps.com/showthread.php?t=41367&highlight=enfield

Perhaps you could post over there and ask Peter Laidler?

wiley
03-15-2013, 11:27
These fully lock up the cylinder when the trigger is fully back and the hammer is in the fired position.

fredtheobviouspseudonym
03-15-2013, 11:26
I've heard of this on other revolvers -- often wear of either the cylinder lock-up piece (I think "bolt," but don't bet the farm that's the right terminology) or the depressions on the cylinder may cause this play.

Again, IIRC, this can often be fixed by replacing the cylinder lock-up piece (bolt?) or the cylinder or both.

LARscout
03-16-2013, 02:18
The design of the lock up piece is itself 2x smaller than the depression it clicks into. I dont know if the British anticipated this by adding the two wing type pieces of metal under the barrel so that the gases and lead shavings dont cut up the fingers and knuckles of the shooter.