PDA

View Full Version : What is the story behind your Avatar!

Griff Murphey
11-15-2012, 10:23
Where were you, what were you doing?

I just put one up or, more accurately, Don W did for me. This is me, Fort Sill, Oklahoma, 1970, Army ROTC advanced camp and this is right when we did the Vietnam Village helo assault exercise. About that time, my interest in being an infantry officer really began to wane, and I started studying harder....

Barryeye
11-18-2012, 07:28
My eldest son got married four years ago. On the morning of the wedding he came to me and asked if we could go for a “shoot”. So with the best man and my son in law we drove to a mate’s farm and for half an hour declared war on a number of wild tin cans. Amongst the many rifles we took with us was my .303 Citadel Martini. Love that rifle and it is the one I am holding when we took a few pictures to remember the moment. My son says that the blast up was just what he needed to reduce the pre wedding jitters.

phil441
11-18-2012, 10:06
Mine represents the first true duty station I had after basic and tech school. Sent to Goose Bay Labrador (1962) for a year and a half tour. As a born and bred Texas boy, the rather intense cold was a shock to the system. Luckily, I was sent there with two other Texas boys who would become roommates so we learned together how to cope. It was really rotten duty but I've always felt that it taught me that I could overcome minor inconveniences. We were not being shot at so I always considered it a rather gentle transition to the real world.

Barryeye
11-19-2012, 12:36