PDA

View Full Version : Speciallty plates

High Plaines Doug r
03-07-2012, 08:21
Guys,

I’m conflicted and ask the forum’s opinion.

My Dad carried Texas Legion of Valor plates on his car as a benefit of having been awarded the DSC in WWII. He paid nothing extra for these plates and it granted him free parking at San Antonio International Air Port and probably at the capitol in Austin (Not that he ever used either of those privileges).

Now, here in Colorado I can buy Bronze Star with “V” plates providing I produce my DD214 with BSM/V documentation for the DMV here. I think I have to pay $50 or so for the plates the 1st year.

I’m proud of the 11 months I spent in Southeast Asia although I was a pretty indifferent soldier otherwise. (Nothing to compare to the 33 years of service my father provided).

Question: Is it pretentious of me to want to display a BSM with “V” license plate?

Actually, I would be equally happy to buy a Combat Infantry Badge plate if one was made available and I don’t have the same mixed feelings with regard to display of that award (since I KNOW I actually earned that one).
Thanks,

Doug

Cosine26
03-07-2012, 08:46
I believe that it is a matter of personal preference. Certainly you should not be ashamed of but should be proud service in NAM or any hostile zone.

amber
03-07-2012, 10:17
I have always felt that the CIB is a decoration that is right near the top. Anyone so honored with it should display it proudly.

Guamsst
03-08-2012, 06:58
I can't get past the $50 fee to decide if it is pretentious or not.

I see tons of DV (disabled Veteran) and purple heart/ branch of service plates in Texas. I don't know if they cost extra or not, I may have to check into it now.

High Plaines Doug r
03-08-2012, 07:16
I can't get past the $50 fee to decide if it is pretentious or not.

I see tons of DV (disabled Veteran) and purple heart/ branch of service plates in Texas. I don't know if they cost extra or not, I may have to check into it now.