PDA

View Full Version : Service Rifle Shooters Scope Stand ?

Weez556
10-26-2011, 11:58
What seems to work best I have a Chamoion's Choice heavy duty bipod stand now.
But bipod stand does not seem to be the most stable in wind or on uneven ground.
So you guys that have tri-pod stands how do you like them ? I am thinking about ordering a CC hd tri-pod stand CC920B $76.00.
Thanks

PhillipM
10-27-2011, 12:58
I'm new to this too and just received the Jim Owen's scope stand. It is not a thing of art but it WORKS WELL. It has a much larger tripod area than the others and I found once I set it for prone with all the sections collapsed I could raise it for scoring and when needed to go back prone, I just collapsed it and it looked good.

Jim Owens said I was one of the eight for the previous batch so you should call him. If money were no object, I'd buy a Giraud, just cause he's a heck of a nice guy. His products need no pimping.

C5M1
10-27-2011, 07:36
I added lead weight to the bottom of mine. Filled a tuna can with lead and an appropriate sized nut to screw on to the bottom of the stand. Worked well.. Heavy sumbeach though.

regards, dennis

Maury Krupp
10-27-2011, 07:58
I really like my Ray-Vin. It's light but stable, compact, and simple to adjust with very few moving parts to adjust (or get out of adjustment).

Since Ray and Ruby retired Creedmoor has taken over production. They made a few changes and upped the price a bit but it's still a great stand.

I've had both a Freeland bipod and tripod; never really liked either one. I bought the tripod hoping it'd be more stable than the bipod but it wasn't. Adding the weight made the whole thing a chore to carry. The 5/8in pole is too skinny to be stable with even a mid-size scope. The plethora of allen screws and jam nuts always seemed to work loose or get too tight. Adjusting it in position was a PITA. The knobs always seemed to catch on something. Neither the bipod nor tripod folded up very well for transport.