PDA

View Full Version : 03 marine sniper rifle

nrachris
01-05-2011, 08:26
Hello all, I have a question about an 03 a fellow is selling. It is a smith corona with a 3/4" Weaver mounted on it. He says it is a marine sniper rifle built for the korean war.I'm not an expert but something doesn't sound right. I haven't seen rifle yet, but I will post more once I do. Please advise. Any input is appreciated. TIA

cplnorton
01-05-2011, 09:51
He's full of it.

Remington made the 1903a4 which was the Army sniper rifle during WWII. Some 03a4's might have been used by the Marines, but not many. Marines hated that rifle. Marines used the 1903a1 Springfield rifle with an 8X unertl scope. They used the same 1903a1 rifle in Korea as well as the M1 sniper rifle models, the M1C + M1D.

Smith Corona never made any sniper rifles for the government. It's a fake that has been done since it has left service. Tell the guy he is a scumbag and walk away fast!

musketshooter
01-05-2011, 11:01
There are NO Smith-corona sniper rifles no matter what scope it has.

Johnny in Texas
01-05-2011, 02:19
Only made in Bubba's garage Not by the US GUBERMENT

1903shooter
01-06-2011, 04:36