PDA

View Full Version : A free suite in Singapore

Griff Murphey
07-03-2010, 05:07
I was a Navy dentist with the 3rd Marine division. I had volunteered for a "float" which was rumored to be a good deal. I did not know that my particular float was going in harm's way. After I read Charles Henderson's book GOODNIGHT SAIGON I found out all about these very serious planning sessions for us which ran the gamut of having us outright invade to shore up the ARVNs, to covering an evacuation. Well, the evacuation plans were what we of BLT 1-4 did in 1975. If anyone is interested I will talk about that sometime, but now for some less serious stories of the Navy-Marine Corps Team.

After the Vietnam and Cambodia evacuations we did two nice cruises. About mid-summer of 1975 it was announced that we were going to Singapore. The Marine officers got up the idea to fill up a conex box with liquor and trade it to a hotel in Singapore for a hotel suite. This was because Singapore had very high taxes on liquor making it totally ridiculously high in cost. So they asked all the officers in the battalion to give their liquor ration cards to the guys that were doing the buying, along with X dollars in cash (Maybe $5 to $10, but a fifth of booze at the package store was UNTAXED and cost maybe $2!). The Conex box was dutifully stacked ceiling high and padlocked aboard USS NEW ORLEANS LPH-11.

When we arrived in Singapore two of our lieutenants, Lee and Macklin, in the tradition of China Marines of long ago, put their EGA's on sun helmets, wore their UD's, equipped themselves with swagger sticks, and headed off to find a hotel. And they found one (Let's call it the Festive Day Lodge) eager to take the deal. So that was how the officers of 1-4 got a "free" hotel suite.