PDA

View Full Version : Hoppes Bore Snake?

jaceglarek
07-02-2010, 06:28
Anyone using one of these to clean competition rifles? How well do they work? Any pitfalls? Also, what about using them with solvents like Butch's, Shooter's Choice, etc, that are designed to remove copper fouling, since it looks like these things have a bronze brush incorporated into them?

Thanks,

John

Dave in NGA
07-02-2010, 06:35
I've been using bore snakes for something like 10 years. I really like them since they overcome the issue of cleaning rods rubbing against the lands of bore. As you note, the typical bore cleaner will eat up the brush in the snake. It's important you add the solvent to the 'tail end' of the snake to minimize the contact with the brush portion in the other end of the snake. From time to time you should run your snakes through the wash to remove dirt and crud that will build up in the snake. Be sure to enclose the snake in a bag or old sock to keep it from wrapping around the agitator in the washer. If you jamb your wife's washer she really will get agitated!

joem
07-02-2010, 09:24
I use the snakes at the range right after I fire the last round. It seems to make cleaning easier once I get home.

Jeff L
07-02-2010, 04:42
I got one for my 03s and found it requires a lot more strength to get it through than using traditional brush and cleaning patches.

-Jeff L

joem
07-03-2010, 11:27
Jeff, try dropping the weight end down chamber, then put the weighted end around your shoe and lift the rifle.

S.A. Boggs
07-04-2010, 12:07
IMHO bore snake, in concept, are a good idea. It is just not real world. The bore snake will get dirty on the first and subsequent passes and need to be cleaned. Otherwise, this is just to reinvest the bore and subsequent bores with dirt and grime. I use the Otis system and it works like a charm. In one very small kit I can carry material to clean ANY bore, including shotgun and it does a great job.
Sam

Chris F
08-11-2010, 10:54